"News told our way"

Mapisa-Nqakula elected National Assembly speaker

Article by: Dumisane Dube

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula is the new Speaker of the National Assembly in Parliament.

Her election comes after the resignation of Thandi Modise almost two weeks ago as she became Defence Minister.

The African National Congress (ANC) rallied behind Mapisa-Nqakula while the Democratic Alliance (DA) chose Annelie Lotriet as its preferred candidate. 

Western Cape Judge President, Justice John Hlophe presided over the sitting.

Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula won the campaign by 199 votes.

Close to 300 votes were cast by Members of Parliament (MPs) by way of a secret ballot.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) did not take part in the election of a new speaker for the National Assembly, saying it will not participate in “rubber-stamping Ramaphosa’s violation of the separation of powers.”

She received 199 votes against the 82 votes received by Annelie Lotriet. There we 17 spoil ballots.

For more updates visit our website and remember to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

About Post Author

%d bloggers like this: